For The Bambinos and Bambinas.

Standard

Having a baby is no easy task. Any woman and or man (myself and Mike included) will tell you that the sleepless night, bouts of colic, and the endless dirty diapers are well worth it. However, I have found (again myself included) that I am becoming more and more concerned about what goes into my kids and what goes on my kids. The most used items a new parent will use is diapers and wipes. Now, I’m not bashing anyone about using disposable diapers (for the most part they are so not eco-friendly) they are easy and convenient and I for one do not have the patience to cloth diaper a baby, if I did I would never leave the house. There is some things you need to know about disposable diapers for instance the makers of diapers are not required by law or any government agency to report the ingredients in the diapers which leave a whole lot of room to dump in the nastiness (and not just from the baby).  Some products to watch out for are:

TBT-this is absorbed into the body, it causes immune problems, and is a known hormone disruptor.

Dioxin-is a known carcinogen, cause of liver disease, immune system disruptor, and causes genetic damage.

Sodium polyacrylate-is the absorbent gel in diapers, is linked to toxic shock syndrome.

You should also know that studies have shown that the chemicals and fragrances in diapers have been known to cause asthma in children.

Now even with a newborn I also use baby wipes on my 6-year-old for things like wiping her face and hands if we are out and about but there is some things you should know. Products to avoid:

Propylparaben, Ethylparaben, methylparaben, Butylparaben, and fragrances.

Parabens are known carcinogens and have been found in the breast tissue of women and men who are fighting breast cancer and are also known to increase the risk of breast and skin cancer. And that lovely old friend of our “fragrance” well, the same still applies….company dumps chemicals into the product and there is no requirement to let us “the consumer” know what is in it. 

Now I know that alot of people (for the 3rd time myself included) can’t always afford to buy the ultra expensive disposable diapers or have the time to cloth diapers but when you can, switch out. The health of your baby is worth it.

On a side note: Don’t store baby food in plastic jars unless it’s BPA free or phalates can leach into the food…ITs best to use glass. : )

2 responses »

  1. Which diapers to use is definitely a difficult decision. My son was 19 months old before I started cloth diapering. But I finally made the decision to try it because of the chemicals in most diapers. From time to time I still use disposables though. I’ve heard that more natural diapers are less expensive if you buy in bulk. I wish I knew that when I wasn’t cloth diapering.

    • I know it is a really difficult decision. I gave cloth diapering the “ole college try” and with a 6 year old that doesnt slow down and a newborn, I had no choice. I also live atleast 45 minutes away from the store closest to me that sells 7th Generation diapers and wipes (which really do work) but, I can only find single packs which aren’t cheap. Oh by the way thanks for stopping by (like I said Im REALLY new to this and want to make it really good) = ) Stay warm!

Leave a comment